MSC Announces Committee Leadership for 2013

22 Member Companies Represented Across 20 Diverse Panels

Pittsburgh, PA – Marcellus Shale Coalition (MSC) Chair David J. Spigelmyer today announced the 40 men and women elected by the MSC’s Board of Directors to lead the organization’s committees and subcommittees in 2013.  The 20 panels – comprised by professionals from MSC member companies – take a leading role in shaping the industry’s approach to technical, regulatory, and policy issues related to the Marcellus and Utica shale formations.  More than 70 individuals submitted their names for committee leadership positions, with 22 MSC member companies represented among the chairs and vice-chairs of the panels.

“Our committees and subcommittees remain central to our organization’s work in Pennsylvania and in our nation’s capital,” said Spigelmyer.  “As we enter 2013, the men and women leading and participating in these MSC working groups will continue to place Pennsylvania in the forefront of setting industry-leading operational practices, while ensuring a competitive landscape for additional capital investment and market growth here in the Commonwealth.”

“Having men and women from so many member companies leading the core work of our coalition is gratifying and a testament to the success the MSC has achieved over the last several years,” added Kathryn Z. Klaber, MSC chief executive officer.  “Our Coalition has become increasingly diverse and dynamic, with member companies comprising exploration, production, midstream, supply chain, and end-use aspects of our industry.  Our 2013 committee leadership slate is a reflection of just that.”

The 2013 MSC committee chairs and vice-chairs follow:

Health and Safety
Bill Burket, Range Resources
Pat Carfagna, CONSOL Energy

Land Affairs
Mike Donovan, Seneca Resources
Bruce Snyder, Range Resources

Legal Committee
Craig Mayer, Pennsylvania General Energy
David Poole, Range Resources

Legislative Committee
Dave Callahan, MarkWest Energy Partners
Barb Sexton, Chesapeake Energy

Membership Committee
Gary Smith, EOG Resources
Colleen Williams, Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc.

Midstream/Pipeline Committee
Rob McHale, MarkWest Energy Partners
Will Ratcliffe, Access Midstream

Natural Gas Use
Will Freeman, Chesapeake Energy
Bryan McConnell, Tenaska

Public Relations Committee
Karen Matusic, XTO Energy
Helen Humphreys, Williams

Regulatory Committee
Terry Bossert, Chief Oil & Gas
Tom Yarnick, XTO Energy

  • Air Quality Subcommittee
    David Morris, CONSOL Energy
    Jim Cooper, Chesapeake Energy
  • Waste Management and Recycling Subcommittee
    Pete Miller, Range Resources
    Denise Brinley, TRC Solutions
  •  Water Resources Subcommittee
    Derek Smith, Rex Energy Corp.
    Jennifer Hoffman, Chesapeake Energy
  • Well and Surface Use Permitting Subcommittee
    Mike Sherman, Range Resources
    Amanda Langford, CONSOL Energy

Research Collaborative
Alan Abel, Chevron
Terri Marts, URS

Supply Chain
Ryan Litwinovich, CONSOL Energy
Kurt Barschick, US Steel

Tax and Fee
Jennifer Stewart, Southwestern
Louisa Matthews, Deloitte

Joe Frantz, Range Resources
Dave Bert, Chesapeake Energy

Environmental Stewardship
John Smelko, Cabot Oil & Gas
Debby McElreath, Chesapeake Energy

Charles McCandless, WPX Energy
William White, Chesapeake Energy

Viola Lazzer, Atlas Energy
Mike Narcavage, Chesapeake Energy

# # #